• 12 Neglinnaya Street, Moscow, 107016 Russia
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
What do you want to find?

Cash Circulation

The issuance of cash and the arrangement of its circulation are the first functions of central banks. In accordance with Article 75 of the Constitution of the Russian Federation, the monetary unit of the Russian Federation is the ruble, and money is issued exclusively by the Central Bank of the Russian Federation.

Cash — banknotes and coins — has the functions of currency and means of payment.

Pursuant to Article 75 of the Constitution of the Russian Federation, the Russian currency unit is the ruble. The Bank of Russia is the sole issuer of currency. The introduction and issue of another currency are prohibited in the Russian Federation.

17.8 trillion rubles
Volume of cash in circulation
as of 1 April 2024

Despite the rapid growth of cashless payments, cash money, i.e., banknotes and coins, remains an important part of the financial system and an important part of national identity and culture.

The Bank of Russia issues commemorative coins dedicated to significant dates, to Russian scientists, artists and cultural figures, to Russian regions, and to many other subjects.


New Commemorative Coins

The Millennium of the Foundation of Suzdal
The Millennium of the Foundation of Suzdal
12 July 2024
Toropets, Tver Region
Toropets, Tver Region
12 July 2024
On 11 December 2013, the Bank of Russia approved the capital Cyrillic letter ‘Р’ crossed with a horizontal line in the lower part as the graphic symbol of the ruble (ruble sign).
Символ рубля

More than 61% of the participants in the public discussion held on the website of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation supported this symbol.

Download symbol of the ruble:
Department responsible for publication: Cash Circulation Department
Was this page useful?
Last updated on: 12.07.2024