• 12 Neglinnaya Street, Moscow, 107016 Russia
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
What do you want to find?

Sustainable Development

Sustainable development is the development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.

The world is paying increasingly more attention to climate and environmental risks and the enhancement of sustainable development tools and infrastructure. Russia ratified the Paris Agreement on climate change in 2019. This international treaty sets the ideological and legal framework for the new global redistribution of capital flows in favour of the markets meeting today’s needs.

The Bank of Russia’s key role in sustainable development is to create conditions for its financing.

The global trend towards decarbonisation, the development of environmental standards for production, and an increase in businesses’ social responsibility forms an understanding that market participants not respecting these factors will create elevated risks for the financial sector.

The Bank of Russia’s objectives are to:

  • provide opportunities for people and businesses to take part in shaping the future of the world by developing required infrastructure and sustainable financial instruments, specifically green mortgage, green bonds, and green loans;
  • help financial institutions and public companies adjust to new challenges and conditions. The financial sector should first and foremost be able to take into account risks associated with the shift to the sustainable development goals and be aware that elevated risk is mostly due to the neglect to attain the sustainable development goals in its operations. It is therefore crucial to create systems for ESG risks identification, assessment, monitoring, and stress testing.

ESG factors

At the end of 2020, the Bank of Russia established the Working Group on Sustainable Development Financing that sets the strategic agenda in this area and controls its implementation. The group comprises five dedicated expert subgroups that include representatives of federal executive authorities, development institutes, financial market participants, self-regulatory organisations, and science.

Working Group on Sustainable Development Financing

Important

Department responsible for publication: Corporate Affairs Department
Was this page useful?
Last updated on: 03.11.2021

• ул. Неглинная, 12, Москва, 107016
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
Что вы хотите найти?

Устойчивое развитие

Устойчивое развитие — это развитие, отвечающее потребностям настоящего времени без ущерба для благополучия будущих поколений.

Мир все более внимателен к климатическим и экологическим рискам, совершенствованию инструментов и инфраструктуры устойчивого развития. Парижское соглашение по климату заложило идеологическую и правовую основу для нового глобального перераспределения потоков капитала в пользу рынков, отвечающих современным потребностям. Россия приняла это соглашение в 2019 году.

Основная роль Банка России в сфере устойчивого развития заключается в создании условий для его финансирования.

Глобальный тренд на декарбонизацию, разработку экологических стандартов производства и повышение социальной ответственности бизнеса формирует понимание того, что участники, не учитывающие эти факторы, будут создавать повышенные риски для финансового сектора.

Задачи Банка России:

  • дать возможность людям и бизнесу принять участие в определении будущего планеты через создание необходимой инфраструктуры и устойчивых финансовых инструментов, в частности зеленой ипотеки, зеленых облигаций, зеленых кредитов;
  • помочь финансовым организациям и публичным компаниям адаптироваться к новым вызовам и условиям. Финансовый сектор должен в первую очередь уметь учитывать риски, связанные с переходом к целям устойчивого развития, и понимать, что повышенный риск связан прежде всего с игнорированием целей устойчивого развития в своей деятельности. Поэтому необходимо создавать системы по идентификации, оценке, мониторингу и стресс-тестированию ESG-рисков.

ESG-факторы

В конце 2020 года в Банке России создана Рабочая группа по финансированию устойчивого развития, которая определяет стратегическую повестку по этому направлению и контролирует ее реализацию. В группе — пять тематических экспертных подгрупп с участием представителей федеральных органов исполнительной власти, институтов развития, участников финансового рынка, саморегулируемых организаций и науки.

Рабочая группа по финансированию устойчивого развития

Ответственное структурное подразделение: Департамент корпоративных отношений
Страница была полезной?
Последнее обновление страницы: 19.08.2021