• 12 Neglinnaya Street, Moscow, 107016 Russia
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
What do you want to find?

How the Bank of Russia influences inflation

The Bank of Russia uses the key rate in order to impact inflation. Through a chain of economic interdependencies, the key rate influences a wide range of economic processes which eventually impact the growth rate of consumer prices.

Thus, a change in the key rate almost instantly results in a similar adjustment of overnight interbank lending rates. An operational objective of monetary policy is to keep interbank lending rates close to the key rate. This operational objective is achieved through monetary policy instruments employed by the Bank of Russia to manage banking sector liquidity. The system of monetary policy instruments and the continuous process of management of banking liquidity are components of the operational procedure of monetary policy.  

In turn, an alteration of overnight interbank rates causes longer-term changes in money market rates, which takes slightly more time and is determined not only by the actual reduction or rise in overnight rates, but also by market participants’ expectations regarding their future movements.

Banks may use interbank loans along with other financial instruments, namely bonds, loans, and deposits. Therefore, changes in interbank lending rates entail alterations in interest rates in other segments of the financial market. Movements of interbank lending rates are translated into bond yields most quickly. In turn, interest rates on interbank loans and bond yields impact interest rates on bank loans and deposits. Thus, all interest rates in the economy gradually adjust in response to a key rate change.

Movements of interest rates in various segments of the financial market influence the propensity of economic agents to borrow, invest, save or spend funds. When interest rates go down, it becomes easier to finance current expenses using borrowing, while saving becomes less attractive. Contrastingly, when interest rates rise, deposits gain attractiveness, whereas loans lose it. Changes in consumer, production and investment activity influence aggregate demand in the economy, which in turn impacts consumer price dynamics.

In addition, alterations in market interest rates caused by a change in the Bank of Russia key rate influence the attractiveness of investment in ruble-denominated assets as compared to financial instruments in foreign currencies. As a result, demand for Russian instruments alters, changing the ruble exchange rate, which, in turn, is an important factor in the formation of domestic prices.

Moreover, the key rate impacts borrowing and lending activity, and, consequently, inflation through changes in the value of assets (securities, real estate) which may be used to secure loans. At the same time, a rise in the value of bank assets provides more opportunities for banks to expand lending. However, today these mechanisms of influence of the key rate on Russia’s economy are relatively insignificant.

Inflation expectations are essential for monetary policy transmission to the economy. They complement other monetary policy transmission mechanisms in the economy and influence their functioning. After all, these are the individual inflation expectations that economic agents rely on when they make decisions on spending, saving and investment, as well as set interest rates, salaries and prices. The Bank of Russia influences economic agents’ expectations through its information policy.

For more details on how the Bank of Russia impacts inflation, please refer to the Monetary Policy Guidelines.

Department responsible for publication: Monetary Policy Department
Was this page useful?
Last updated on: 18/09/2020

• ул. Неглинная, 12, Москва, 107016
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
Что вы хотите найти?

Как Банк России влияет на инфляцию

Банк России использует ключевую ставку для влияния на инфляцию. Через цепочку экономических взаимосвязей ключевая ставка воздействует на широкий круг экономических процессов, которые в конечном счете влияют на темп прироста потребительских цен.

Изменение ключевой ставки почти мгновенно приводит к изменению на аналогичную величину однодневных ставок рынка межбанковского кредитования. Формирование межбанковских ставок денежного рынка вблизи ключевой ставки является операционной целью денежно-кредитной политики. Операционная цель достигается за счет применения Банком России инструментов денежно-кредитной политики, с помощью которых Банк России управляет ликвидностью банковского сектора. Система инструментов денежно-кредитной политики и непрерывный процесс управления банковской ликвидностью являются элементами операционной процедуры денежно-кредитной политики.  

Изменение однодневных межбанковских ставок в свою очередь приводит к изменению ставок денежного рынка на более длительные сроки, что требует чуть больше времени и определяется не только фактическим снижением или повышением однодневных ставок, но и ожиданиями участников рынка относительно их динамики в будущем.

Банки могут использовать межбанковские кредиты наряду с другими финансовыми инструментами — облигациями, кредитами и депозитами. Поэтому вслед за изменением ставок по межбанковским кредитам изменяются и ставки на других сегментах финансового рынка. Быстрее всего изменения межбанковских кредитных ставок транслируются в доходность облигаций. Ставки по межбанковским кредитам и доходность облигаций, в свою очередь, влияют на ставки по банковским кредитам и депозитам. Таким образом, в результате изменения ключевой ставки постепенно происходит ответная подстройка всех процентных ставок в экономике.

Изменение процентных ставок на различных сегментах финансового рынка влияет на готовность участников экономики заимствовать, инвестировать, сберегать или потреблять. При снижении ставок становится проще финансировать текущие расходы за счет заемных средств и менее привлекательно сберегать. При повышении ставок, напротив, увеличивается привлекательность депозитов и снижается привлекательность кредитования. Изменение потребительской, производственной и инвестиционной активности воздействует на совокупный спрос в экономике, который в свою очередь влияет на динамику потребительских цен.

Также изменение рыночных процентных ставок, вызываемое изменением ключевой ставки Банка России, влияет на привлекательность вложений в рублевые активы по сравнению с финансовыми инструментами в других валютах. В результате спрос на российские инструменты меняется, что приводит к изменению курса рубля, который, в свою очередь, является значимым фактором формирования внутренних цен.

Ключевая ставка влияет на кредитную активность, и следовательно — на инфляцию, и через изменение стоимости активов (ценных бумаг, недвижимости), которые могут быть использованы в качестве обеспечения по кредитам. Одновременно рост стоимости активов банков увеличивает их возможности по расширению кредитования. Однако эти механизмы влияния ключевой ставки на экономику России в настоящее время относительно мало значимы.

Особую роль в передаче в экономику сигнала о денежно-кредитной политике играют инфляционные ожидания, которые дополняют другие механизмы воздействия денежно-кредитной политики на экономику и влияют на их работу. Ведь именно с учетом собственных ожиданий по инфляции участники экономики принимают решения о потреблении, сбережении и инвестировании, устанавливают процентные ставки, заработную плату и цены. Банк России влияет на ожидания экономических агентов с помощью своей информационной политики.

Подробнее о том, как Банк России влияет на инфляцию, можно узнать из «Основных направлений единой государственной денежно-кредитной политики».

Ответственное структурное подразделение: Департамент денежно-кредитной политики
Страница была полезной?
Последнее обновление страницы: 17.03.2020