• 12 Neglinnaya Street, Moscow, 107016 Russia
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
What do you want to find?

Glossary

Core inflation

An indicator of inflation characterising its most sustainable part. Core inflation is measured based on the core consumer price index (CCPI). The difference between the CCPI and the consumer price index (CPI) is that the CCPI is calculated excluding changes in prices for certain products and services that are subject to the influence of administrative and seasonal factors (individual categories of fruit and vegetables, passenger transportation services, communication services, utility services, motor fuel, etc.).

Share of foreign currency in bank deposits (loans)

The share of foreign currency-denominated deposits (loans) in the banking sector’s overall portfolio of deposits (loans).

Monetary base

The total amount of components of cash and credit institutions’ funds in accounts and Bank of Russia bonds denominated in Russian rubles. In the narrow sense of the term, the monetary base comprises cash in circulation (outside the Bank of Russia) and credit institutions’ funds in the accounts of required reserves for ruble-denominated funds raised by credit institutions. The broad monetary base includes cash in circulation (outside the Bank of Russia) and credit institutions’ total funds in accounts and Bank of Russia bonds.

Money supply

The total amount of funds of residents of the Russian Federation (excluding general government and credit institutions). For the purposes of economic analysis, various monetary aggregates are calculated (М0, М1, and М2).

Money supply in the national definition (monetary aggregate M2)

The total amount of cash in circulation outside the banking system and of the balances of Russian residents (non-financial and financial (other than credit) institutions and individuals) in settlement, current and other demand accounts (including in bank card accounts), time deposits, and other raised term funds in the banking system denominated in Russian rubles, as well as interest accrued on them.

Consumer price index (CPI)

The ratio of the value of a fixed set of goods and services in current-period prices to its value in previous (reference) period prices. This index is calculated by the Federal State Statistics Service. The CPI reflects changes over time in the overall level of prices for goods and services purchased by households for private consumption. The CPI is calculated based on data on the actual structure of consumer spending and is, therefore, the principal indicator of the cost of living. In addition, the CPI has a range of characteristics making it convenient for common use, namely a simple and clear method of construction, a monthly frequency of calculation, and timely publication.

MSCI indices

A group of indices calculated by Morgan Stanley Capital International. The latter calculates indices for individual countries (including Russia), global indices (for various regions, developed and emerging market economies), and the World Index.

Inflation expectations

Economic agents’ expectations regarding price growth in the future. Inflation expectations are formed by businesses, households, financial markets, and analysts. Economic agents make economic decisions and their plans for the future (including those related to consumption, saving, borrowing, investment, and loan and deposit rates) relying on their expectations. Inflation expectations impact inflation and are, therefore, a critical indicator for making monetary policy decisions.

Inflation

A sustained rise in the overall level of goods and service prices in the economy. Inflation is generally associated with changes over time in the price of the consumer basket, that is, a set of food products, non-food goods and services consumed by an average household (see also the article ‘Consumer Price Index (CPI)’).

Bank of Russia key rate

The principal instrument of the Bank of Russia’s monetary policy. The key rate is set by the Bank of Russia Board of Directors eight times a year. Changes in the key rate influence credit and economic activity and, ultimately, help achieve the key goal of monetary policy. The rate corresponds to the minimum interest rate at the Bank of Russia’s one-week repo auctions and to the maximum interest rate at the Bank of Russia’s one-week deposit auctions.

Credit default swap (CDS)

A financial instrument enabling a buyer to insure against a certain credit event (e.g., default) concerning a third party’s financial obligations in exchange for regular payments of premia (CDS spread) to the CDS seller. The higher the premium paid, the more risky are the obligations that are the subject of the credit default swap.

Banking sector liquidity

Credit institutions’ ruble-denominated funds held in correspondent accounts with the Bank of Russia primarily for making payments via the Bank of Russia’s payment system and for complying with the mandatory reserve requirements.

Neutral rate of interest

The level of the key rate when monetary policy neither slows down, nor speeds up inflation.

Required reserve ratios

Ratios that may range from 0% to 20% and that are applied to credit institutions’ reservable liabilities to calculate the regulatory value of required reserves. These ratios are established by the Bank of Russia Board of Directors.

Liquidity-absorbing operations

Reverse operations carried out by the Bank of Russia to absorb liquidity from credit institutions. These are operations either to raise deposits or place Bank of Russia bonds.

Refinancing operations

Reverse operations conducted by the Bank of Russia to provide liquidity to credit institutions. They may be in the form of loans, repos or FX swaps.

Russia’s balance of payments

A statistical system reflecting all economic operations between residents and non-residents of the Russian Federation over the course of the reporting period.

Floating exchange rate regime

An exchange rate regime where the central bank establishes no targets, including operational ones, whether for the level of or for changes in the exchange rate, with the exchange rate forming under the influence of market factors. However, the central bank reserves the right to purchase foreign currency in order to replenish international reserves or to sell it in the case of any threats to financial stability.

RUONIA (Ruble OverNight Index Average)

A reference weighted interest rate on overnight ruble-denominated deposits in the Russian interbank market. It reflects the estimated cost of the unsecured borrowings of banks with minimum credit risk. The Bank of Russia calculates RUONIA using the method developed by the National Finance Association together with the Bank of Russia, based on information on deposit transactions between the RUONIA panel banks. The list of the panel of banks participating in the RUONIA calculation is formed by the National Finance Association and agreed upon with the Bank of Russia.

Structural liquidity deficit / surplus of the banking sector

A structural deficit in the banking sector is a situation when credit institutions demonstrate sustainable demand for liquidity from the Bank of Russia. A structural surplus is when credit institutions have a stable excess of liquidity and the Bank of Russia needs to carry out liquidity-absorbing operations. The estimated level of a structural liquidity deficit / surplus is the difference between the outstanding amount on refinancing operations and the amount of liquidity-absorbing operations of the Bank of Russia.

Inflation targeting

A strategy of monetary policy based on the following principles: price stability is the key goal of monetary policy; the inflation target is clearly specified and announced; under a floating exchange rate regime, monetary policy influences the economy primarily through interest rates; monetary policy decisions are made based on the analysis of a wide range of macroeconomic indicators and their forecasts; the Bank of Russia seeks to provide clear benchmarks for households and businesses, including through enhancing information transparency.

Transmission mechanism

The mechanism through which monetary policy decisions impact the economy in general and price dynamics in particular; the process of the gradual transmission of the central bank’s signal regarding the maintenance of or a change in the key rate and its future path from financial market segments to the real sector of the economy and, ultimately, to the inflation rate. A change in the key rate is translated into the economy through multiple channels (interest rates, credit, foreign exchange rates, balance sheet, inflation expectations, etc.).

Financial stability

A state of the financial system involving no systemic risks which, in the case of their materialisation, might adversely affect the transformation of savings into investment and the real economy. Financial stability improves the resilience of the economy to external shocks.

Was this page useful?
Last updated on: 20/03/2020

• ул. Неглинная, 12, Москва, 107016
  • 8 800 300-30-00
  • www.cbr.ru
Что вы хотите найти?

Глоссарий

Базовая инфляция

Индикатор инфляции, характеризующий наиболее устойчивую ее часть. Базовая инфляция измеряется на основе базового индекса потребительских цен (БИПЦ). Отличие БИПЦ от индекса потребительских цен (ИПЦ) состоит в исключении при расчете БИПЦ изменения цен на отдельные товары и услуги, подверженные влиянию факторов, которые носят административный, а также сезонный характер (отдельные виды плодоовощной продукции, услуг пассажирского транспорта, связи, жилищно-коммунальных услуг, моторное топливо и так далее).

Валютизация банковских депозитов (кредитов)

Доля депозитов (кредитов) в иностранной валюте в общем объеме депозитов (кредитов) банковского сектора.

Денежная база

Сумма отдельных компонентов наличных денег и средств кредитных организаций на счетах и в облигациях Банка России в валюте Российской Федерации. Денежная база в узком определении включает наличные деньги в обращении (вне Банка России) и средства кредитных организаций на счетах по учету обязательных резервов по привлеченным кредитными организациями средствам в валюте Российской Федерации. Широкая денежная база включает наличные деньги в обращении (вне Банка России) и все средства кредитных организаций на счетах и в облигациях Банка России.

Денежная масса

Сумма денежных средств резидентов Российской Федерации (за исключением органов государственного управления и кредитных организаций). Для целей экономического анализа рассчитываются различные денежные агрегаты (М0, М1, М2).

Денежная масса в национальном определении (денежный агрегат М2)

Сумма наличных денег в обращении вне банковской системы и остатков средств резидентов Российской Федерации (нефинансовых и финансовых (кроме кредитных) организаций и физических лиц) на расчетных, текущих и иных счетах до востребования (в том числе счетах для расчетов с использованием банковских карт), срочных депозитов и иных привлеченных на срок средств, открытых в банковской системе в валюте Российской Федерации, а также начисленные проценты по ним.

Индекс потребительских цен (ИПЦ)

Отношение стоимости фиксированного набора товаров и услуг в ценах текущего периода к его стоимости в ценах преды­дущего (базисного) периода. Рассчитывается Федеральной службой государственной статистики. ИПЦ показывает изменение во времени общего уровня цен на товары и услуги, приобретаемые населением для потребления. ИПЦ рассчитывается на основе данных о фактической структуре потребительских расходов и поэтому является основным индикатором стоимости жизни населения. Кроме того, ИПЦ обладает рядом характеристик, которые делают его удобным для широкого применения: простота и понятность методологии построения, месячная периодичность расчета, оперативность публикации.

Индексы MSCI

Группа индексов, рассчитываемых Morgan Stanley Capital International. Рассчитываются индексы по отдельным странам (в том числе России), глобальные индексы (по различным регионам, по развитым странам и странам с формирующимися рынками) и «мировой» индекс.

Инфляционные ожидания

Ожидания экономических агентов относительно роста цен в будущем. Выделяют инфляционные ожидания компаний, населения, финансовых рынков, профессиональных аналитиков. На основе ожиданий хозяйствующие субъекты принимают экономические решения и строят свои планы на будущее (в том числе о потреблении, сбережениях, заимствованиях, инвестициях, ставках по кредитам и депозитам). Инфляционные ожидания оказывают влияние на инфляцию и по этой причине являются важным индикатором при принятии решений о денежно-кредитной политике.

Инфляция

Устойчивое повышение общего уровня цен на товары и услуги в экономике. Когда говорят об инфляции, обычно имеют в виду изменение во времени стоимости потребительской корзины: набора продовольственных, непродовольственных товаров и услуг, потребляемых средним домохозяйством (см. также статью «Индекс потребительских цен (ИПЦ)»).

Ключевая ставка Банка России

Основной инструмент денежно-кредитной политики Банка России. Ставка устанавливается Советом директоров Банка России восемь раз в год. Изменение ключевой ставки оказывает влияние на кредитную и экономическую активность и в конечном итоге позволяет достигать основной цели денежно-кредитной политики. Соответствует минимальной процентной ставке на аукционах ­репо Банка России на срок 1 неделя и максимальной процентной ставке на депозитных аукционах Банка России на срок 1 неделя.

Кредитный дефолтный своп (Credit Default Swap, CDS)

Финансовый инструмент, который позволяет его покупателю в обмен на регулярную выплату премий (CDS-спред) его продавцу застраховаться от некоего кредитного события (например, дефолта) по финансовым обязательствам третьей стороны. Чем выше выплачиваемая премия, тем более рискованными считаются обязательства, в отношении которых был заключен кредитный дефолтный своп.

Ликвидность банковского сектора

Средства кредитных организаций, поддерживаемые на корреспондентских счетах в Банке России в валюте Российской Федерации главным образом в целях осуществления платежей через платежную систему Банка России и выполнения обязательных резервных требований.

Нейтральная ставка

Такой уровень ключевой ставки, при котором денежно-кредитная политика не способствует ни снижению, ни ускорению инфляции.

Нормативы обязательных резервов

Коэффициенты, значения которых могут находиться в интервале от 0 до 20%, применяемые к резервируемым обязательствам кредитной организации для расчета нормативной величины обязательных резервов. Устанавливаются Советом директоров Банка России.

Операции абсорбирования

Операции Банка России по привлечению ликвидности у кредитных организаций на возвратной основе. Могут быть в форме привлечения средств в депозит или размещения облигаций Банка России.

Операции рефинансирования

Операции Банка России по предоставлению ликвидности кредитным организациям на возвратной основе. Могут быть в форме кредита, ­репо или валютного свопа.

Платежный баланс Российской Федерации

Статистическая система, в которой отражаются все экономические операции между резидентами и нерезидентами Российской Федерации, произошедшие в течение отчетного периода.

Режим плавающего валютного курса

Режим валютного курса, при котором центральный банк не устанавливает ориентиров, в том числе операционных, для уровня или изменения курса, позволяя курсо­образованию происходить под влиянием рыночных факторов. При этом центральный банк оставляет за собой право осуществлять покупки иностранной валюты для пополнения международных резервов либо ее продажи в случае возникновения угроз для финансовой стабильности.

Ставка RUONIA (Ruble OverNight Index Average)

Индикативная взвешенная руб­левая депозитная ставка овернайт российского межбанковского рынка. Отражает оценку стоимости необеспеченного заимствования банков с минимальным кредитным риском. Расчет ставки RUONIA осуществляется Банком России по методике, разработанной Национальной финансовой ассоциацией совместно с Банком России, на основании информации о депозитных сделках банков-участников между собой. Список банков — участников RUONIA формируется Национальной финансовой ассоциацией и согласовывается с Банком России.

Структурный дефицит / профицит ликвидности банковского сектора

Структурный дефицит — состояние банковского сектора, характеризующееся существованием устойчивой потребности у кредитных организаций в привлечении ликвидности в Банке России. Структурный профицит характеризуется формированием устойчивого избытка ликвидности у кредитных организаций и необходимостью для Банка России проводить операции по ее абсорбированию. Расчетный уровень структурного дефицита / профицита ликвидности представляет собой разницу между задолженностью по операциям рефинансирования и операциям абсорбирования избыточной ликвидности Банка России.

Таргетирование инфляции

Стратегия денежно-кредитной политики со следующими принципами: основной целью денежно-кредитной политики является ценовая стабильность, цель по инфляции четко обозначена и объявлена, в условиях режима плавающего курса основное воздействие денежно-кредитной политики на экономику осуществляется через процентные ставки, решения по денежно-кредитной политике принимаются на основе анализа широкого круга макроэкономических показателей и их прогноза, при этом Банк России стремится создавать четкие ориентиры для населения и бизнеса, в том числе путем повышения информационной открытости.

Трансмиссионный механизм

Механизм влияния решений в области денежно-кредитной политики на экономику в целом и ценовую динамику в частности; процесс постепенного распространения сигнала центрального банка о сохранении или изменении ключевой ставки и будущей ее траектории от сегментов финансового рынка на реальный сектор экономики и в итоге на инфляцию. Изменение уровня ключевой ставки транслируется в экономику по различным каналам (процентному, кредитному, валютному, балансовому, каналу инфляционных ожиданий и другим).

Финансовая стабильность

Состояние финансовой системы, в котором не происходит формирования системных рисков, способных при реализации оказать негативное воздействие на процесс трансформации сбережений в инвестиции и реальный сектор экономики. В ситуации финансовой стабильности экономика более устойчива к внешним шокам.

 

Ответственное структурное подразделение: Департамент денежно-кредитной политики
Страница была полезной?
Последнее обновление страницы: 21.02.2020