Monetary policy
guidelines for 2021–2023

1
Principles and goals

The Bank of Russia is following the inflation targeting regime. Its goal is to maintain price stability, that is, to keep annual inflation close to 4% on a continuous basis.

Low and predictable inflation is critical for households and businesses to make long-term plans, protects savings, incomes and investment against unforeseeable devaluation, helps reduce interest rates in the economy, and increases the affordability of borrowing.

Principles underlying Bank of Russia monetary policy are unchanged

Publicly announced inflation target

Key rate and communication as monetary policy instruments

Forecast-based decisions

Communication transparency

2
Forecast

Baseline scenario

The baseline scenario assumes a relatively active recovery in consumer demand, budget consolidation and the return of federal budget parameters to the values of the fiscal rule in 2022, and moderate effects from the pandemic for the economy’s potential. Under the baseline scenario, monetary policy will likely remain accommodative in 2021 and will afterwards gradually return to the neutral policy in the second half of the forecast range, as inflation stabilises at the target.

 
Annual inflation  
Gross domestic product  
Banking system claims on the economy in rubles and foreign currency  
 – corporates  
 – households  
growth, % YoY
2019 (actual) 2020 2021 2022 2023
3 3.7–4.2 3.5–4.0 4.0 4.0
1.3 -(4.5–5.5) 3.5–4.5 2.5–3.5 2.0–3.0
10.1 6–9 7–11 7–11 7–11
7.1 6–9 6–10 6–10 6–10
19 6–9 10–14 10–14 10–14


The Bank of Russia presents 3 alternative scenarios:

Disinflationary scenario

Disinflationary scenario suggests the markedly slower rate (compared to the baseline scenario) of demand recovery which may take place if the pandemic continues and a significant volume of restrictive measures remain in place. The long period of moderate demand will exert a downward pressure on inflation. It will call for monetary policy remaining accommodative for longer period of time and, possibly, for its further easing in order to return inflation to the target

Pro-inflationary scenario

The proinflationary scenario assumes that demand dynamics will be similar to the assumptions of the baseline scenario but in the context of a significant decline in the economy’s potential. It also proceeds from the scenario assumption that the process of budget consolidation may take more time, ending in 2023. In this situation, the economy will return to a lower potential as early as in 2021 and will even slightly exceed it. In order to maintain inflation at the target – close to 4% – the Bank of Russia may need to temporarily shift to a moderately tight policy followed by a further return to the neutral one at the end of the forecast horizon.

Risk scenario

The risk scenario assumes both a weak recovery in demand and a considerable decline in the economy’s potential. Additional risks for this scenario will be the threat of a potential large-scale credit crisis in countries with a high public debt and the escalation of geopolitical risks. Considerable increase in pro-inflationary risks will require a temporary and significant tightening of monetary policy and its return to the accommodative stance in the second part of the forecast period. Due to a large scale of events under this scenario, the process of inflation stabilisation at the target will take more time and will occur slightly later than 2023.

3
Monetary policy in 2019 H2 – 2020

Gradual key rate reduction in September 2019 – February 2020

TThe Bank of Russia continued easing its monetary policy. Overall, the key rate was cut from 7.25% to 6.00% per annum over the said period. This was needed to stabilise inflation close to 4% over the forecast horizon. During these months, inflation was slowing down faster than it had been forecast.

Key rate decrease paused in March 2020

By March, the situation in the global and Russian economies, as well as in global financial markets substantially deteriorated. Financial stability risks were up. Uncertainty about further developments increased considerably. In view of such a situation, the Bank of Russia made a decision to pause the key rate reduction.

Further significant key rate decrease since April 2020 and a shift to accommodative monetary policy

The slump in external and domestic demand intensified the risks of a substantial deviation of inflation away from the target. In order to limit these risks, the Bank of Russia switched to accommodative policy. In April – July, the key rate was cut from 6.00% to 4.25% per annum. Making its key rate decisions, the Bank of Russia took into account the stabilisation measures implemented by the Government, as well as by the Bank of Russia in other areas of its activity.

Future monetary policy

In the case of the baseline scenario, as the economic situation returns to normal and inflation stabilises close to 4%, the Bank of Russia will estimate a possible time and pace for returning from accommodative to neutral monetary policy where the key rate will stay within a neutral range of 5–6% per annum.

4
Expansion of communication

Due to rising uncertainty, the clarity of communication and the openness of the central bank are gaining significance. To be able to address new challenges, the Bank of Russia has taken a number of new steps.

Increase in the number of press conferences

The Bank of Russia started to hold the Governor’s press conferences after each key rate meeting.

Expanded regional communication

In September, the Bank of Russia will launch the publication of information and analytical commentaries about inflation in all Russian regions. This will enable households to have information about the specifics of price trends in their regions. In 2021 Q1, Bank of Russia regional branches will start the publication of the consolidated review of the current economic situation in their regions.

Expanded communication of the forecast

The Bank of Russia is discussing formats for more detailed communication of our forecast. Based on these discussions, we are going to publish the forecast in a more expanded format, including options for publishing the projected path of the key rate.

5
Use of monetary policy instruments

The operational objective of the Bank of Russia’s monetary policy is to keep overnight money market rates close to the key rate. In 2020, they have been forming close to the key rate, prevalently in the lower half of the Bank of Russia interest rate corridor.

The Bank of Russia continued to operate amid a structural liquidity surplus. It is expected to remain over the three-year horizon.

Основные направления единой государственной денежно-кредитной политики на 2021 год и период 2022 и 2023 годов

1
Цели и принципы

Банк России придерживается режима таргетирования инфляции. Его цель – обеспечение ценовой стабильности, то есть годовой инфляции вблизи 4% постоянно.

Низкая и предсказуемая инфляция позволяет населению и бизнесу строить долгосрочные планы, защищает от непредсказуемого обесценения их накопления, доходы и инвестиции, способствует формированию более низких ставок в экономике и повышает доступность кредитов.

ПРИНЦИПЫ ДЕНЕЖНО-КРЕДИТНОЙ ПОЛИТИКИ БАНКА РОССИИ НЕИЗМЕННЫ:

Установление публичной цели по инфляции

Ключевая ставка и коммуникация — инструменты ДКП

Решения принимаются на основе прогноза

Информационная
открытость

2
Прогноз

Базовый сценарий

Базовый сценарий исходит из сравнительно активного восстановления потребительского спроса, бюджетной консолидации с возвращением федерального бюджета к параметрам бюджетного правила в 2022 году, а также умеренных последствий от пандемии для потенциала экономики. В базовом сценарии денежно-кредитная политика, вероятно, будет сохраняться мягкой в 2021 году, а затем постепенно возвращаться к нейтральной политике во второй половине прогнозного периода по мере стабилизации инфляции на цели.

 
 
Инфляция в год  
Валовой внутренний продукт  
Требования банковской системы к экономике в рублях и иностранной валюте  
 – к организациям  
 – к населению  
прирост в % к предыдущему году
2019 (факт) 2020 2021 2022 2023
3 3,7–4,2 3,5–4,0 4,0 4,0
1,3 -(4,5–5,5) 3,5–4,5 2,5–3,5 2,0–3,0
10,1 6–9 7–11 7–11 7–11
7,1 6–9 6–10 6–10 6–10
19 6–9 10–14 10–14 10–14


Мы разработали 3 альтернативных сценария:

Дезинфляционный

Дезинфляционный сценарий предполагает значительно более медленное (чем в базовом сценарии) восстановление спроса, что может произойти в случае продолжения пандемии с сохранением значимого уровня ограничительных мер. Длительный период сдержанного спроса будет оказывать понижательное влияние на инфляцию. Это потребует сохранение мягкой денежно-кредитной политики более продолжительное время и, возможно, ее дополнительного смягчения для возвращения инфляции к цели.

Проинфляционный

Проинфляционный сценарий исходит из динамики спроса, как в базовом сценарии, но при значительном падении потенциала экономики. Также он содержит сценарное предположение о том, что бюджетная консолидация может происходить медленнее и растянуться до 2023 года. В этих условиях экономика возвращается к более низкому потенциалу уже в 2021 году и даже несколько его превышает. Для того, чтобы удержать инфляцию на цели вблизи 4%, Банку России может потребоваться временно перейти к умеренно-жесткой политике с последующим возвратом к нейтральной к концу прогнозного периода.

Рисковый

Рисковый сценарий совмещает в себе слабое восстановление спроса и значительное падение потенциала. Дополнительные риски в этом сценарии – возможность масштабного кредитного кризиса стран с высоким уровнем государственного долга, а также обострение геополитических рисков. Значительное усиление проинфляционных рисков потребует временного существенного ужесточения денежно-кредитной политики с возвратом к мягкой политике во  второй половине прогнозного периода. Вследствие масштабности событий в этом сценарии стабилизация инфляции на цели займет более длительное время и произойдет несколько позднее 2023 года.

3
ДКП во второй половине 2019 – 2020 году

Плавное снижение ключевой ставки в сентябре 2019 – феврале 2020 года

Банк России продолжал смягчение денежно-кредитной политики. Всего ключевая ставка была снижена за это время с 7,25 до 6,00% годовых. Это было необходимо для стабилизации инфляции вблизи 4% на прогнозном горизонте. В эти месяцы инфляция замедлялась быстрее, чем прогнозировалось.

Пауза в снижении ставки в марте 2020 года

К марту из-за пандемии существенно ухудшилась ситуация в мировой и российской экономике, а также ситуация на глобальных финансовых рынках. Выросли риски для финансовой стабильности. Значительно увеличилась неопределенность относительно дальнейшего развития событий. В этой ситуации Банк России взял паузу в снижении ставки.

Проведение мягкой политики для стабилизации инфляции вблизи цели путем поддержки внутреннего спроса (апрель-сентябрь 2020 года)

В апреле был возобновлен цикл снижения ключевой ставки. В течение четырех месяцев она была снижена до 4,25%. Банк России перешел к мягкой денежно-кредитной политике. В сентябре ставка была оставлена без изменений, стимулирующий характер денежно-кредитной политики сохранился.

Будущая денежно-кредитная политика

При выполнении базового сценария по мере нормализации экономических условий и стабилизации инфляции вблизи 4% Банк России будет оценивать возможные сроки и скорость возвращения от мягкой к нейтральной денежно-кредитной политике, при которой ключевая ставка будет находиться в нейтральном диапазоне 5–6% годовых.

4
Расширение коммуникации

В условиях роста неопределенности еще большее значение приобретают ясность коммуникации, открытость центрального банка. Чтобы отвечать вызовам времени, Банк России предпринял ряд новых шагов.

Увеличение количества пресс-конференций

Банк России перешел к проведению пресс-конференций Председателя Банка России после каждого заседания по ключевой ставке.

Расширение региональной коммуникации

В сентябре Банк России запускает публикацию информационно-аналитических комментариев об инфляции по каждому региону России. Это позволит гражданам получать информацию об особенностях динамики цен конкретно в своем регионе. В I квартале 2021 года планируется старт публикации сводного обзора материалов территориальных учреждений Банка России о текущей экономической ситуации в регионах.

Расширение коммуникации прогноза

Банк России обсуждает возможные форматы более подробной коммуникации прогноза. По итогам этого обсуждения планируется публикация прогноза в более развернутом формате, в него также может войти прогнозная траектория ключевой ставки.

5
Применение инструментов ДКП

Операционная цель денежно-кредитной политики Банка России – поддержание однодневных ставок денежного рынка вблизи ключевой ставки. В 2020 году они формировались вблизи ключевой ставки, преимущественно в нижней половине процентного коридора Банка России.

Банк России продолжал работать в условиях структурного профицита ликвидности. Он сохранится на трехлетнем горизонте.